All-RVC volleyball

The 2019 Rolling Valley All-Conference Volleyball Teams were recently released by league officials.

Ar-We-Va and Boyer Valley each had three athletes represented on the top two teams.

The Rockets and Lady Bulldogs also had two honorable mention selections.

For Ar-We-Va, junior Jadeyn Smith earned a spot on the first team after being a second-team selection as a sophomore.

Ar-We-Va senior Leslie Luft and junior Sara Schurke both were named to the second team.

Luft and Schurke were first-team honorees a year ago.

Smith led Ar-We-Va with 174 kills on the year and was 184-193 in serving for 95.3 percent.

Smith also had 119 digs on the year and led the Rockets with a total of 37 blocks, including 30 solos.

Luft led Ar-We-Va with 282 digs and was 129-145 in serving for 89 percent.

Schurke paced Ar-We-Va with 283 assists and had 101 digs. She also contributed 49 kills and was 224-262 (85.5 percent) with a team-high 48 aces in the serving department.

Boyer Valley had two first-team selections in senior Jessica Fokken and junior Katelyn Neilsen.

Fokken is on the first team for the second year in a row, while Neilsen moved up to the first unit after being a second-team pick as a sophomore.

BV senior Taylor Klein also was honored on the second team.

Fokken led the BV girls with 240 kills and a total of 48 blocks, including 45 solos.

Neilsen was second to Fokken in kills with 194 on the year. She also hit 356-400 serves (89 percent) with a team-high 73 aces.

Neilsen was among the team leaders in digs with a total of 245.

Klein connected on 276-288 serves (95.8 percent) with 24 aces on the year. She also led the team with 259 digs as the team’s Librero player.

Area girls picking up honorable mention recognition were Ar-We-Va juniors Bridget Cameron and Hannah Kraus, as well as BV senior Abbie Miller and sophomore Lady Bulldog teammate Leah Cooper.

Ar-We-Va finished third in the RVC at 5-3 and wound up 9-14 overall in matches and 30-39 in games.

BV, on the other hand, went 4-4 in the RVC and tied for fourth with West Harrison, while going 18-14 overall in matches and 53-41 in games.

The Lady Bulldogs advanced to the regional semifinal round before bowing out to second-ranked Council Bluffs St. Albert.

The all-conference players on the top two teams recognized are as follows:

First Team

Glidden-Ralston: Talia Schon, Sr.; Gretchen Wallace, Jr.

Coon Rapids-Bayard: Cora McAlister, Sr.; Alexa Culbertson, Jr.; Cassidy Baker, Jr.

Ar-We-Va: Jadeyn Smith, Jr.

West Harrison: Chloe Gilgen, Sr.

Boyer Valley: Jessica Fokken, Sr.; Katelyn Neilsen, Jr.

Paton-Churdan: Danielle Hoyle, Jr.

Second Team

Glidden-Ralston: Hannah Whitver, Sr.; Kimberly Daily, Jr.

Coon Rapids-Bayard: Lexie Davis, Sr.; Alaya Betts, Jr.

Ar-We-Va: Leslie Luft, Sr.; Sara Schurke, Jr.

West Harrison: Haley Koch, Jr.

Boyer Valley: Taylor Klein, Sr.

Woodbine: Alexa Steinkuehler, Jr.

Exira/EH-K: Erin Irlmeier, Sr.; Ellie Schultes, Sr.

CAM: Jozie Lett, Sr.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.