All-substate ball

The Iowa Basketball Coaches Association (IBCA) last Wednesday released its 2020 All-Substate Teams.

Denison-Schleswig senior point guard Charlie Wiebers and Monarch senior post player Goanar Biliew were named to the Class 3A, Substate 8 team.

Also, Boyer Valley senior post player Lucas Berens and Bulldog junior guard Gavin Reineke were honored on the Class 1A, Substate 8 team.

Harlan’s Mitch Osborn was recognized as the Class 3A, Substate 8 coach of the year, while that honor in Class 1A, Substate 8 was shared by Scott and John Ruden of Remsen-St. Mary’s.

Osborn guided Harlan to the state tournament.

Class 3A, Substate 8

Easton Darling, Winterset, Sr.; Ryan Blum, Glenwood, Jr.; Charlie Wiebers, Denison-Schleswig, Sr.; Goanar Biliew, Denison-Schleswig, Sr.; Zach Carr, Glenwood, Sr.; Connor Bruck, Harlan, Sr.; Brance Baker, Creston, Sr. Coach: Mitch Osborn, Harlan

Class 1A, Substate 8

Spencer Schorg, Remsen-St. Mary’s, Sr.; Sam Rallis, Council Bluffs St. Albert, Jr.; Garrett Trapp, River Valley, Jr.; Ben Thelander, Lawton-Bronson, Sr.; Wyatt Pryor, Woodbine, Sr.; Lucas Berens, Boyer Valley, Sr.; Logan Fiege, West Monona, Sr.; Gavin Reineke, Boyer Valley, Jr. Coach: Scott and John Ruden, Remsen-St. Mary’s

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.