You are the owner of this article.

IGCA all-state honors to Mohr, Danner

  • 0
All-IGCA girls

The Iowa Girls’ Coaches Association released its all-state basketball teams on Tuesday and two area athletes were honored in their respective classes.

The all-state teams include three teams of eight players in each of the five classes.

Ar-We-Va senior guard Emilee Danner was recognized on the first team in Class 1A, while Denison-Schleswig senior point guard Alex Mohr was a third-team all-state selection in Class 4A.

Danner averaged a double-double with 21.4 points and 10.6 rebounds per game for an Ar-We-Va team that went 15-8 overall and lost to eventual Class 1A state champion Newell-Fonda in a regional semifinal game.

In fact, Danner recorded 16 double-doubles in her team’s 23 games.

Danner also dished out 108 assists, collected 118 steals, sank 58 three-point baskets and finished with 24 shot blocks en route to being named to the Rolling Valley Conference first team for the third time in her career this past winter.

"I am not surprised by Danner’s awards. She had a great senior year to top off an outstanding career here at Ar-We-Va. She led the team in scoring, rebounding, steals, assists and blocks. She did that all while being the number one focus of every team we played," commented Ar-We-Va coach

Dan Kock.

"It was a normal occurrence to see her in the gym shooting hoops before and after practice and on any random day in the offseason. She was a good leader and fun to coach. She deserves all the awards she is getting," the Rocket boss added.

Mohr averaged 10 points, 4.3 assists and 2.6 steals per game for a Denison-Schleswig club that won the Hawkeye 10 Conference championship, finished 20-3 overall and advanced to the state tournament in Class 4A.

Mohr’s 118 total assists were among the state leaders in Class 4A.

A unanimous Hawkeye 10 first-team honoree, Mohr led the Monarchs with 24 three-point baskets.

The all-state teams in Class 1A and 4A are below.

Class 1A First Team

Emilee Danner, Ar-We-Va; Carah Drees, Westwood Sloan; Carson Fisk, Lynnville-Sully; Madison Gettler, CAM; Olivia Larsen, Newell-Fonda; Rachel Leerar, West Hancock; Kori Wedeking, Clarksville; Shateah Wetering, Montezuma. Coach of the Year: Dick Jungers, Newell-Fonda

Class 1A Second Team

Briana Baker-Bruce, Janesville; Jayde Barto, Kingsley-Pierson; Amanda Chizek, West Hancock; Riley Gatton, Montezuma; Acey Jellison, Seymour; Ella Larsen, Newell-Fonda; Teona Richman, Marquette Catholic; Kassidi Steel, North Mahaska

Class 1A Third Team

Hannah Erickson, Central Elkader; Aubrie Fisher, AGWSR; Riley Jewett, Seymour; Bre Klein, Murray; Andee Martin, Westwood Sloan; Faith Vincent, Colo-Nesco; Lauren Wilson, Springville; Suzanna Yoder, Iowa Mennonite


Class 4A First Team

Grace Boffeli, North Scott; Caitlynn Daniels, C.R. Xavier; Madison Dreckman, Le Mars; Macy Harris, Grinnell; Emily Holterhaus, Pella; Kayba Laube, Marion; Megan Meyer, Mason City; Ella Skinner, Sioux City Heelan. Coach of the Year: T.J. Case, North Scott

Class 4A Second Team

Presley Case, North Scott; Anna Deets, Mason City; Abbie Draper, Waverly-Shell Rock; Kenzie Foley, Sergeant Bluff-Luton; Naomi Jackson, Grinnell; Katie Keitges, Knoxville; Karsyn Stratton, Clear Creek-Amana; Megan Witte, Lewis Central

Class 4A Third Team

Jordan Cunningham, Dallas Center-Grimes; Emily Jasper, C.R. Xavier; Alex Mohr, Denison-Schleswig; Kerris Roberts, Waterloo East; Elle Scarborough, Glenwood; Katelyn Shipley, Sioux City Heelan; Ella Van Weelden, Marion; Riley Wright, Marion

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.



Area Sports Schedule

Thursday, June 13


Denison-Schleswig V DH at Creston, 5:30 p.m.


Denison-Schleswig V DH at Creston, 5:30 p.m.


Guthrie Center at Denison, 6:30 p.m.


Signup to receive our daily newsletter and our Midlands Auction newsletter

Click Here to Signup

  • To view our latest AdVisor click the image on the left.
  • To view our latest Today's Action click the image on the left.

Midlands Auctions

View All Auctions Auctions Newsletter